Open Announce

Dyer Named to Ray Guy Award's "Ray's 8" Again

Vote for Dyer as the Ray Guy Punter of the Week: 

AUGUSTA, Ga. – For the second time this season, junior punter Tyson Dyer has been named to the Ray Guy Award’s “Ray’s 8”. The national award named the best eight punters of the week as “Ray’s 8”.

The Ray Guy Award will announce the week seven Punter of the Week on Tuesday, October 15 at 8 a.m.  Joining Dyer on this week’s “Ray’s 8” are Adam Korsak of Rutgers, Blake Gillikin of Penn State, Dane Roy of Houston, Joseph Charlton of South Carolina, Oscar Draguicevich III of Washington State, Owen White of Navy and Ryan Stonehouse of Colorado State.

Dyer had another masterful day punting the football, punting seven times for a 43.3-yard average, with an identical net as only one punt was returned, and that went for zero yards.  All seven of his punts pinned the Colorado State Rams inside the 20-yard line, and it kept his hot streak going.  Dating back to the New Mexico State game, Dyer has dropped 15 of his last 16 punts inside the 20-yard line.  For the season, he has a 47.1-yard average and he has dropped 20 of 32 punts inside the 20, which is already one more than he had all of last year.

Dyer actually had eight punts against Colorado State, but his 56-yard punt that was downed at the 6-yard line was wiped out on a roughing the punter penalty.  Had that punt counted, he would have had eight inside the 20 and a 44.9-yard average.

Dyer is ranked eighth nationally in punting at 47.1 yards per punt, and UNM is sixth in net punting.
Ray Guy Award Timeline
Monday, November 4 – Nomination forms due
Tuesday, November 5 – Final candidate list announced
Tuesday, November 19 – Semifinalists announced
Monday, November 25 – Three finalists announced
Thursday, December 12 – The Home Depot College Football Awards Show (Atlanta, GA)
January 2020 – Football Banquet (Augusta, GA)
About the Ray Guy Award
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thompson, Georgia native and College and Pro Football Hall of Fame Inductee, Ray Guy. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned with particular emphasis on net punting average. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team’s success.
About the Augusta Sports Council
The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) enriches the quality of life and economic well-being for the Augusta metropolitan area by supporting and attracting sporting activities. To learn more, visit
About the National College Football Awards Association
The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 22 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about our story.