Open Announce
Jonathan Tibbetts Photo Illustration

Seventy-Nine Lobos Named Mountain West All-Academic for Fall

by Frank Mercogliano

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — The University of New Mexico’s Fall sports programs of football, soccer, volleyball and men’s and women’s cross country combined for a non-COVID record 79 honorees on the Mountain West All-Academic Squad.  The 79 is a 65% increase from a season ago, when under the same parameters, UNM had 48 Mountain West All-Academic picks in the Fall.

To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the member institution while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better and competed in 50 percent of the teams completed varsity contests. Some latitude was permitted to accommodate injured student-athletes.

The Lobos had 31 student-athletes honored in football, 19 in women’s soccer, 10 in volleyball, 12 in women’s cross country and seven in men’s cross country.  Football’s 31 was the most for the program (excluding the COVID 2020-21 year when the team was configured differently) and women’s cross country’s 12 tied its most, equalling the 2010 squad.  Soccer’s totalwas its second-best ever, only behind its 2019 total of 20, and volleyball’s 10 was one off its best total of 11, done twice.  For men’s cross country, it’s seven were the most since 2016 and one off its record of eight.

Men’s Cross Country:  Ethan Brouw, Jonathan Carmin, Nehmiah Cionelo, Yehonatan Haim, Abdirizak Ibrahim, Kevin Mulcaire, Awet Yohannes

Women’s Cross Country: Samrawit Dishon, Sarah Eckel, Isabella Fauria, Abby Goldstein, Emma Heckel, Garcelyn Larkin, Amelia Mazza Downie, Christina Nisoli, Elisa Thorner, Ali Upshaw, Samantha Valentine, Danielle Verster

Football: OJ Bartley, Greg Brown, Tavian Combs, JC Davis, Luke Drzewiecki, Andrew Erickson, Andrew Erickson, Tavien Ford, Adam Gay, Issak Gutierrez, Hunter Haemker, Reco Hannah, A.J. Haulcy, Justin Holaday, Dion Hunter, Benji Johnson, Tyler Kiehne, Shancco Matautia, Zach Morris, Geordon Porter, Syaire Riley, Aaron Rodriguez, Jake Saltonstall, Bryce Santana, Ian Shewell, George Steinkamp, Sherod White, Connor Witthoft, Bobby Wooden, Luke Wysong, Kade Zimmerman.

Soccer: Leilani Baker, Brynn Boeyink, Alli Davis, Natalie Degagne, Jadyn Edwards, Mackenna Havenor, Jaelyn Hendren, Myah Isais, Zaria Katesigwa, Karlee Maes, Eliza Mariner, Paris Dalton, Skye McMillon, Mercedes Morris, Sophie Roberts, Ellie Robinson, Taryn Robles, Paige Satterlee, Yoshida Sakura.

Volleyball: Kaitlynn Biassou, Madi Blanco, Uxue Guereca, Avital Jaloba, Alena Moldan, Lauren Payne, Melissa Walden, Kali Wolf, Elizabeth Woods, Lea Zurlinden


Having trouble viewing this document? Install the latest free Adobe Acrobat Reader and use the download link below.

Your document is ready to be downloaded.