NEW ENTRY REQUIREMENTS FOR GAMES AT THE PIT: GoLobos.com/safe

Close Topbar
Open Announce

Heckel Set to Compete in SPAR European Cross Country Championships

by Alma Solis

DUBLIN, Ireland – Although the 2021 cross country collegiate season is done, the Lobos are still putting in the work and competing for titles across the world. This weekend, freshman Emma Heckel will compete in the SPAR ­European Cross Country Championships on Sunday.

Heckel will be competing in the U20 women’s 4000-meter race, set for 10:28 a.m. GMT (3:28 a.m. MT). The Nuremburg, Germany native is coming off a great cross country season in which she finished 18th individually, earning her first All-American honor, and the team earned a third-place finish at the NCAA Championships. In her first indoor event as a Lobo on Dec. 4, Heckel set a new European and German U20 record in the indoor 5000m event with a time of 15:41.07. She defeated the previous record by nearly a whole minute (16:37.45, Tatjana Shulte; Feb. 12, 2016) and is currently ninth in the NCAA Division I 2021-2022 rankings with her mark.

Two future Lobos will be competing in the U20 6000-meter men’s race at 10 a.m. GMT (3 a.m. MT). Jonathan Carmin and Yehonatan Haim, both from Israel, are set to join the Lobos during the 2022-23 year.

A pair of Lobo alumni and All-Americans in Hannah Nuttall and Charlotte Arter both of Great Britain are competing in the championships as well. Nuttall competed for the Lobos from 2018-2020 and will run the Mixed Relay on Sunday, while Arter competed for UNM from 2012-2014 and will run in the Senior Women’s 8000-meter race set for 1:53 p.m. GMT (6:53 a.m. MT).

Lobo alum Jacob Simonsen is also competing in the Senior Men’s 10,000-meter race set for 1:13 p.m. GMT (6:13 a.m. MT).

The SPAR European Cross Country Championships will be streamed live in its entirety on the European Athletics website starting at 9:30 a.m. GMT (2:30 a.m. MT).

To keep up with all things Lobo cross country, follow @UNMLoboXCTF on Twitter and Instagram.