Open Announce

Lobos Head to 13th-Straight NCAA Cross Country Championships

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – Ranked third in the nation, the University of New Mexico women’s cross country team is set to run at the 2021 NCAA Cross Country National Championships on Monday, Mar. 15.

The Championships will take place in Stillwater, Okla., at the OSU Cross Country Course. Live coverage will begin at 10:30 a.m. MT on ESPNU or the ESPN App. The women’s 6k race will start at 10:50 a.m. MT followed by the men’s race at 11:40 a.m. MT.

Two-time NJCAA All-American sophomore Abdirizak Ibrahim will represent the men’s cross country team, qualifying for an individual spot in the men’s race.


The Lobos have the fifth-longest consecutive qualifying streak (13) in NCAA Cross Country Championship history. The two-time NCAA Champions won it all in 2015 and 2017 and were runner-ups in 2018.

“Our spread one to five reminds us a lot of our 2015 NCAAChampionship team – the lowest-scoring team in modern history,” said head coach, and Mountain West Coach of the Year, Joe Franklin.


Fans can watch the race on television on ESPNU, the ESPN App, or stream the race here. Live stats can be found here.


For the thirteenth-straight year, the University of New Mexico’s women’s cross country team clinched the Mountain West Title at the MW Cross Country Championships in Las Vegas, Nev. With a spread of 0:30, the Lobos finished with seven runners in the top-15, posting a total of 29 points.

The women’s team, currently ranked third in the Nation in the most recent Women’s Cross Country National Coaches Poll, has held the Mountain West Championship title since 2008, a thirteen-year streak, the longest winning-streak in Mountain West history in any sport.

Senior Adva Cohen has led the pack in each of this year’s races and finished in second place overall at the MW Championships, posting a Mountain West Championship personal-best time of 20:02.3.

With a spread of 30 seconds or less in every race, head coach Joe Franklin says the entire group is very interchangeable, similar to the 2015 Championship team.

A full list of participating teams can be found below.

Full List of Women’s Team Qualifiers (Alphabetically, National Ranking)

  1. Alabama (13)
  2. Arkansas (1)
  3. Boise State (10)
  4. BYU (2)
  5. Colorado (6)
  6. Colorado State (RV)
  7. Duke (19)
  8. Florida State (18)
  9. Furman (14)
  10. Georgetown (21)
  11. Georgia Tech (15)
  12. Illinois (16)
  13. Indiana (17)
  14. Iowa State (24)
  15. Liberty (RV)
  16. Michigan (8)
  17. Michigan State (7)
  18. Minnesota (11)
  19. NC State (5)
  20. New Mexico (3)
  21. North Carolina (RV)
  22. Northern Arizona (9)
  23. Oklahoma State (22)
  24. Ole Miss (26)
  25. Oregon State (23)
  26. Portland (20)
  27. San Francisco (27)
  28. Stanford (4)
  29. Tulsa (RV)
  30. Washington (12)
  31. West Virginia (27)