Open Announce

Five Lobos Named All-America Scholars

NORMAN, Okla. — Four members of The University of New Mexico men’s golf team have been named Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars for their outstanding work in the classroom over the 2019-20 season. The prestigious accolade goes to senior Sam Dickey, redshirt-junior Ross Sinclair, junior Galven Green and sophomores Sam Choi and Ignacio Arcaya marking the most Lobos to achieve the honor in program history.

The five All-American Scholars come off of a tremendous, but unexpectedly short, 2019-20 campaign in which the Lobos claimed the 2019 William H. Tucker Intercollegiate title and were ranked as high as 30th in the nation.

Full Srixon/Cleveland Gold All-America Scholar List

To be eligible for Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar status an individual must be a sophomore, junior or senior academically in Division I, II, III, and NAIA, or receiving their Associate’s Degree and in their last year of athletic eligibility in the NJCAA. In addition, they must have a stroke-average under 76.0 in Division I, 78.0 in Division II, 78.0 in NAIA and 79.0 in Division III, 77.0 in NJCAA, and maintain a minimum cumulative career grade-point average of 3.2. For 2019-20, they must have participated in 40 percent of the team’s competitive rounds.

As a team, the Lobos posted their second-best semester grade point average in program history, a 3.80 GPA, in Spring 2020. Individually, sophomore Sam Choi adds this honor to a long list of accomplishments this season including earning a spot on the 2020 Arnold Palmer Cup Team while being named NCAA Division I PING All-Region and NCAA Division I PING All-America. Choi was also tabbed Mountain West All-Conference following a pair of MW Player of the Week honors and is among a short list of Lobos to achieve All-America and All-America Scholar status in the same season.

Choi’s best finish of the season came with a victory at the John Burns Intercollegiate in February while Green’s was a second-place finish (tied) at the 2019 William H. Tucker Intercollegiate. Green also earned the MW Individual Championship in Spring 2019 after a playoff with teammate Sean Carlon.

All five honorees finished the 2019-20 season with a stroke average of less than 75.0, a full stroke below the requirement to be added to the All-American Scholar list: Dickey 74.83, Sinclair 72.86, Green 72.77, Choi 71.71 and Arcaya 73.71.