Open Announce
C. Morgan Engel/NCAA Photos

Lobos Continue Improvement on Day 3 of Championships

by Frank Mercogliano

HOUSTON, Texas — New Mexico picked up points from five swimmers over three events and while UNM stayed in ninth place, the Lobos moved up to 299 points, all but guaranteeing that the team will improve upon last year’s Mountain West Championship total.  The final day of the championships, featuring seven events, will take place Saturday at the University of Houston Natatorium.

Jordan Foster was UNM’s top scorer of the day, picking up 23 combined points.  She took seventh in the B-Final of the 100 fly and then eighth in the B-Final of the 100 breast as she was UNM’s only double scorer of the day.  Ola Tomaszek also scored in the 100 breast, recording a fifth-place finish in the C-Final for four points.

In the 100 back, Iryna Tsesiul won the C-Final for nine points and Katy McCarter was fourth in the same race for five points.

Overall, San Diego State leads the championships with 944 points, followed by UNLV (881.5), Colorado State (626), Fresno State (572.5), Nevada (567), Air Force (517), Wyoming (498), and San Jose State (406).  The meet showcased many of the swimmers and divers wearing Wyoming Cowgirl temporary tattoo stickers and handwritten Wyoming tributes in grease pen as the meet was rocked by the news of a car accident that took the lives of three University of Wyoming swimmers and divers from the men’s and women’s teams.

On Saturday, along with the platform dive, swimming events will feature the 1,650 free, the 200 back, the 100 free, the 200 breast, the 200 fly and final relay, the 400 free.  UNM will have Maya Clise in the 1,650 along with Marin Wilson.  Five swimmers, Alex McGill, Iryna Tsesiul, Maddie Deucher, Kaylah Yazzie and Tahlia Micallef will compete in the 200 back.  Katy McCarter, Sophia Corder, Linda Franco and Bryn Quintana will compete in the 100 free.  Clise, Jordan Foster, Kiana Raagas, Amaya Oliphant and Ola Tomaszek will battle in the 200 breast while Layni Andrle is UNM’s only competitor in the 200 fly.