Open Announce
Photo credit: Raine Gavino

Rachael Hathoot Earns MW All-Conference First Team

by Allison Weiss

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M.— In fitting fashion, Rachael Hathoot closes her Lobo career as a two-time Mountain West All-Conference First Team after being selected to the first team by the conference coaches.

After earning the first team accolade last season, Hathoot joins Ashley Archuleta as a two-time first team recipient and is one of three Lobos all-time to earn two MW first team all-conference awards (first team distinctions began in 2014). In addition, she is one of 13 Lobos all-time to earn multiple MW all-conference postseason awards.

Starting all 22 games at shortstop, Hathoot finished with a team-high 28 hits, as well as a team-high .378 batting average, tied for fourth among all Mountain West players in hits and 13th in batting average. She finished with a .459 slugging percentage and a .425 on-base percentage, as well as recorded seven multiple-hit games with five games with two hits and two games with three hits. The Lobo had at least one hit in 19 MW games and had a 16 game streak of reaching base and reached base in 20 of the 22 conference games.

In the field, the Lobo was sixth in the MW in assists with 53 and turned five double plays, tied for seventh among MW players.

The Albuquerque native was 15-28 (.536) in successfully advancing runners and 6-11 (.545) with runners in scoring position in conference games.

Hathoot finishes her Lobo career starting in all 176 games and with 178 hits, 30 doubles, 10 triples, 10 home runs, 75 RBI, 20 stolen bases and 51 multiple hit games. Her 10 career triples rank tied for fourth in program history and her 112 runs scored ranks eighth all-time.

On the season, she carried a career-best 27 game streak of reaching base and a 17-game hitting streak with a career-best 20 multiple hit games. Additionally, she led the Lobos with an overall batting average of .382, 66 hits and 37 runs scored. Her 66 hits were the most for a Lobo since Mariah Rimmer’s 67 in 2016 and the 8th-most hits in a single season in program history.

Co-Player of the Year: Gabby Herrera, Nevada & Mac Barbara, San Diego State
Pitcher of the Year: Taylor Gilmore, Fresno State
Defensive Player of the Year: Maddie Schmidt, UNLV
Freshman of the Year: Sophia Knight, Boise State
Coach of the Year: Stacey Nuveman Deniz, San Diego State 

First Team:
Taylor Caudill, Boise State
Sophia Knight, Boise State
Maya Matsubara, Colorado State
Ashley York, Colorado State
Peyton Allen, Colorado State
Taylor Gilmore, Fresno State
Sophia Medellin, Fresno State
Gabby Herrera, Nevada
Aaliyah Jenkins, Nevada
Chelie Senini, Nevada
Rachael Hathoot, New Mexico
Mac Barbara, San Diego State
Dee Dee Hernandez, San Diego State
Allie Light, San Diego State
Ariana Martinez, UNLV

Second Team:
Alycia Flores, Boise State
Mykenzie Hanna, Boise State
Sydney Groves, Boise State
Molly Gates, Colorado State
Sydney Hornbuckle, Colorado State
Jailey Wilson, Colorado State
Serayah Neiss, Fresno State
Bridgette Gillano, Nevada
Blake Craft, Nevada
Haley Painter, Nevada
Cali Decker, San Diego State
Reina Zermeno, San José State
Ellie Zellien, UNLV
Maddi Schmidt, UNLV
Grace Matej, Utah State