Open Announce

Four Lobos Named to MW 25th Season Soccer Team

by Allison Weiss

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M.— Four Lobos were named to the Mountain West 25th Season Team to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the conference.

The representatives from New Mexico span from 2008 to 2022 and include some of the most successful Lobos in program history in Jennifer Williams (2008-11), Kelli Cornell (2009-12), Jessie Hix (2016-19) and Jadyn Edwards (2018-22), with all four a part of all six of UNM’s six conference championships.

UNM tied former MW school BYU and San Diego State for the most players on the list.

Williams currently ranks in the top five in program history in several categories, including second in career goals (36) and points (90), tied for fourth in career assists (18) and holds the UNM record for career shots at 300 and in game-winning goals with 16.  She started the fifth-most matches in program history at 79. Further, she holds three of the top five season records in shots, registering a program-best 93 in 2011, 83 in 2010 (third all-time) and 79 in 2009 (fifth all-time). Her 14 goals in 2011 is tied for the third most in a single season, as is her 31 points and six game-winning goals that year.

In addition, the 2009 season was especially notable for Williams, scoring seven game-winning goals during the season to tie the program record and was one of three players who has ever tallied eight points in a match (vs. Illinois State on Aug. 30, 2009).

She went on to be named First-Team All-Mountain West in 2009, and followed that up with two more first team selections in 2010 and 2011. She was twice named the MW Offensive Player of the Year, in 2010 and 2011.

Cornell is one of the best goalkeepers in a long list in UNM history, currently holding the top-three goals-against-average in program history. She allowed just 0.52 goals in 2010 (a program best), 0.68 in 2011 and 0.69 in 2009. She recorded a program-best 13 shutouts in 2009 and 10 in both 2010 and 2011, tied for the second-best total shutouts in a single season. Her 13 wins in 2009 were the second most in a single season and her 12 wins in 2010 and 2011 were tied for the third most as well.

During her time in a Lobo uniform, Cornell started 82 matches (tied for the second most in program history), the second-most minutes in program history at 7,702 and made the fifth-most saves in program history with 240. Her career goals-against-average remains the program standard at 0.69 as does her 41 total career shutouts and 48 career wins.

She was named First-Team All-Mountain West in 2010 and 2011 and earned MW Defensive Player of the Year in 2010 and 2011.

An Albuquerque native, Hix appeared in 73 matches with 57 starts and finished her Lobo career with 17 goals and six assists for 40 points.

The six game-winning goals during her career is tied for seventh in program history, her career goals are the eighth most and her career points are the ninth most for a Lobo. She was named to the First-Team All-Mountain West in 2017 and 2018.

Rounding out the team is one of the most recent Lobos in Edwards. During her distinguished Lobo career, the Washington native appeared in 94 matches with 82 starts, which currently is the program record for matches played and tied for second in matches started. On the field, she tallied 31 goals, the third most in program history, with a program-best 24 assists, finishing with 86 points, the third most in UNM history. She accounted for nine game-winning goals (tied for the fourth most) and took 274 shots in her career, the second highest by a Lobo.

She joins Williams as the only UNM players to be named MW Offensive Player of the Year, earning that accolade in 2021 following a season scoring 11 goals with nine assists for 31 points, with her assists and points tied for the third-most points in a single season in program history.

In addition, Edwards was also named to the Second-Team All-Mountain West in 2019 and First-Team All-Mountain West in 2020, 2021 and 2022.


Women’s Soccer 25th Season Team
1.            Raimee Sherle, Boise State
2.            Brooke Heidemann, Boise State
3.            Maren Hendershot, BYU
4.            Aleisha Cramer-Rose, BYU
5.            Erika Woodbury, BYU
6.            Katie Larkin, BYU
7.            Sarah Schweiss, Colorado College
8.            Kendal Stovall, Nevada
9.            Jennifer Williams, New Mexico
10.          Kelli Cornell, New Mexico
11.          Jessie Hix, New Mexico
12.          Jadyn Edwards, New Mexico

13.          Haley Palmer, San Diego State
14.          Kim Castellanos, San Diego State
15.          Alexis Solovij, San Diego State
16.          Megan Jurado, San Diego State
17.          Paige Simoneau, San José State
18.          Alicia Lugo, UNLV
19.          Lily Sender, UNLV
20.          Amy Kofoed, Utah
21.          Adele Letro, Utah
22.          Amanda Feigt, Utah
23.          Ashley Cardozo, Utah State
24.          Mercy Adeyote, Wyoming
25.          Lori Scheider, Wyoming