Open Announce
XL Photography

Lobos Open Season at Bedford ITA in The Springs

by Frank Mercogliano

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — The University of New Mexico women’s tennis team opens its 2023-24 schedule with a short trip north to Colorado Springs to participate in the Bedford Cup in the Mountains, hosted by the U.S. Air Force Academy.

Participating Teams: Along with UNM, teams competing in the various flights include Mountain West foes Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, Utah State and Wyoming.  Also participating will be BYU, Denver and Idaho State, meaning 10 teams and well over 70 individuals.

New Mexico Lineup: Head coach Vicky Maes is having everyone compete, so returners Maud Vandeputte, Leonie Hoppe, Katherine Jhang, Hsuan Huang, Sarah O’Connor, Maria Sodre and Sofia Taborga will play, along with newcomers Bente Vandeputte and Allison Romero.

Schedule:  The schedule is already being impacted by some weather that is due in tomorrow.  Additionally, some Sunday matches will get moved around if BYU would have been the scheduled opponent. (All times are tentative)

THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 14 (2 Rounds of Doubles)
*9:00 AM Warm- Up start time
10:00 AM Doubles Rd of 32
11:00 AM Doubles Rd of 16
Eliminated teams (two losses) out of doubles can register for a third match later in the weekend.

FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 15 (1 doubles, 2 Singles matches)
7:45 AM Warm-Up all teams
9 :00 AM Doubles Quarterfinals
10:00 AM Singles Rd of 16 (*some matches will start later).
2:15 PM Singles Quarterfinals
Eliminated players (two losses) out of singles can play a third match out of bracket on Saturday.

SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 16 (1 doubles, 1 Singles)
7:45 AM Warm-Up all teams
9:00 AM Doubles Semifinals
10:00 AM Singles Semifinals (*)
*Coaches can organize amongst themselves if want extra singles matches on Sunday, plenty of court availability.
6:00 PM Banquet Dinner at Eisenhower Golf Club (123 Golf Dr; USAFA, CO 80840)

SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 17(1 doubles, 1 Singles)
7:45 AM Warm-Up all teams
9:00 AM Doubles Finals
10:00 AM Singles Finals (*)
Post play Awards
*All times are Mountain Time and are subject to change