Open Announce
Jonathan Tibbetts Photo Illustration

Three Divers Qualify for NCAA Zone E Championships

by Frank Mercogliano

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — Three Lobo divers, Hannah Tiendas, Daphne Scheck and Alex Robertson, have qualified for the NCAA Zone E Diving Finals, to be held March 7-9 on the campus of Northern Arizona University.  It marks a return to the NCAAs for the Lobos, who did not compete in 2020-21 due to the global pandemic.

Overall, 80 divers will compete in three disciplines at Zone E, one of five diving championships that feed into the NCAAs.  Along with Flagstaff, the other zone championships are in Annapolis, Md. (Navy), Atlanta (Georgia Tech), Ann Arbor (Michigan) and Madison (Wisconsin).

All three divers qualified for two events each.  All three will participate in the 1-meter dive, and Robertson and Scheck will compete in the 3-meter.  Tiendas, who is a senior along with Scheck, will compete in the platform.  There are 70 qualifiers in the 1-meter, 60 in the 3-meter and 42 in the platform.