Open Announce

Lobo Soccer Postseason Run and Record-Breaking Season Ends in Provo

by Alma Solis

PROVO, Utah – The Lobo soccer program ended their record-breaking season as they fell 0-6 to No. 4 seed BYU in the First Round of the NCAA Tournament, hosted by the Cougars in Provo, Utah, on Saturday evening. New Mexico’s strong defense held BYU’s high-scoring offense to a single goal in the first half, but the Cougars broke through with five goals in the second half to lead to a dominating shutout over the Lobos.

Through the first half, the Lobos were able to keep the Cougars’ powerful offense to one goal in the 36th minute. Despite BYU recording 21 shots in the first 45 minutes, only six of those were on target. That is thanks to New Mexico’s strong defense, highlighted by an outstanding deflection by Emily Johnson, a great defensive play by Karlee Maes and five saves by Johnson.


Heading into the second half, everything seemed to go the Cougars’ way. The Lobos were able to keep them at 1-0 for the first seven minutes, but then BYU broke loose. With six shots on goal in the second half, all but one found the back of the net for the Cougars. Starting in the 53rd minute, BYU went on a 18 minute run in which they scored five goals to take a 6-0 advantage. Although the Cougars stole the show, the Lobos still made some great defensive plays to stop them, highlighted by a great deflection by Jaelyn Hendren in the 50th minute.

Ultimately, despite the Lobos’ hard efforts to halt the BYU’s strong offense with strong defensive counter attacks, New Mexico fell, 0-6, to the Cougars in the First Round to get knocked out of the NCAA Tournament.

BYU outmatched New Mexico in almost offensive category in the match. The Cougars outshot the Lobos by 41 shots (12 on goal) to four shots (one on goal). BYU also had 13 corner kicks while UNM had just one. The Lobos did have six more saves than the Cougars (7-1).

New Mexico ends its season with a 14-5-2 record and 7-2-2 in conference play. No. 15 nationally ranked BYU now sits at 14-4-1 and 8-1 in WCC. The Cougars will move on to the Second Round, facing Alabama in Charlottesville, Virginia.

To keep up with all things Lobo soccer, follow @UNMLoboWSoccer on Twitter and Instagram.

Important season notes:

-The Lobos’ 14 wins this season is second-most single season wins in program history.

-New Mexico went undefeated against conference opponents at home this season.

-The Lobos won the Mountain West Conference Tournament for the second time in program history and the first time in 10 years (first and only tournament title was in 2011).

-Three Lobos were named to the All-Tournament team at the conclusion of the tournament championship. Jadyn Edwards, Karlee Maes and Alexa Kirton were named to the team, while Zaria Katesigwa was named Tournament MVP.

-Heather Dyche earned her 49th conference win at the helm of the program, the most conference wins by any Lobo women’s soccer head coach.

-Alexa Kirton set a record for most career games played by a single Lobo with 87 games played in her career, surpassing the former record holder Liz Nare who had 82 games played from 2010-13.

-New Mexico set two program records with an eight-game winning streak earlier this season and a nine-game conference winning streak, dating back to last season.

-Jadyn Edwards moved into the top 10 of the record books in career goals, assists and points. She is second all-time in assists (20), third in points (64) and sixth in goals (22). She still has one more season to play as a Lobo.

-Emily Johnson ends her collegiate career in the record book as well. She is second in wins (41), fourth in saves (247), fifth in goals against average (1.24) and seventh in total shutouts (14).

-Seven Lobos earned Mountain West All-Conference or individual awards, announced the conference at the end of the regular season. Edwards, Emily Johnson, Karlee Maes and Molly Myers earned First Team, while Alexa Kirton and Zaria Katesigwa earned Second Team. Edwards was named Offensive Player of the Year, Katesigwa earned Newcomer of the Year and Dyche earned Coach of the Year. This is coach Dyche’s second season in a row earning the honor.

-Edwards and Johnson were named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District First Team.